+Medical Alert Review

Mobility Scooters for Seniors

By Carol Bennett, Senior EditorUpdated How we evaluate

Reader-supported: if you buy through a link on this page we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Fees never move a score.

The short answer

A scooter suits someone who can walk short distances, sit upright and steer with both hands. A power wheelchair suits someone who cannot. Three specs decide most purchases, in this order. Weight capacity first, with a margin above the rider. Then range. Then whether the scooter has to fold into a car trunk, and who will lift it.

The comparison ledger

Eight Scooters at a Glance

Mobility scooters for seniors compared on price, capacity, range, weight, portability and warranty.
ModelPriceCapacityRangeWeightFolds or splitsWarranty
SKRT R300 (3-wheel)$379.99300 lbSee note50 lbSplits into 3 parts90-day limited
SKRT R100 (4-wheel)$409.99300 lbUp to 10 milesNot publishedSplits into 5 parts90-day limited
SKRT RF03 (3-wheel)$589.99300 lbNot publishedNot publishedFolds90-day limited
Vive 4-Wheelaround $675265 lbNot on listing88 lbSplits into 4 partsNot on listing
Drive Medical Scout (4-wheel)around $849300 lbUp to 15 miles94 lbQuick disassemblyNot on listing
Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller (4-wheel)around $1,279300 lbNot on listing117 lbQuick disassemblyNot on listing
SKRT XW-E01 (4-wheel)$1,869.99500 lbUp to 25 miles243 lbShips assembled90-day limited
Golden Buzzaround EX Extreme (4-wheel)around $1,963Not on listingUp to 18 milesNot on listingDisassemblesNot on listing
Every figure is taken from the merchant's own product page, checked 2026-09-21; the URLs are in Sources below. SKRT prices are SKRT's published prices. Amazon prices move with retail sales, so those are shown as approximate and should be confirmed at checkout. 'Not published' and 'Not on listing' mean the merchant does not state that figure; we do not estimate it.

If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings.

Frame choice

Three Wheels or Four

This is the first fork in the decision, and it is a trade, not a ranking. A three-wheel scooter has one wheel at the front. That gives a tighter turning circle and more room for the rider's feet. It is the easier frame indoors, in shops and around furniture.

A four-wheel scooter puts two wheels on a wider front axle. The wider base is steadier on a slope, a kerb cut or uneven ground. It needs more room to turn. Outdoor riders usually want the extra stability more than they want the tighter turn.

How to choose in one question

Where will it spend most of its time? Indoors and in shops points to three wheels. Pavements, grass and slopes point to four. If the answer is genuinely both, four wheels is the safer default, because a tight turn is an inconvenience and a tip is an injury.

SKRT models

The SKRT Scooters, in Detail

SKRT Mobility is a small California retailer. It has no independent review base we can point you to, so nothing below rests on a quality claim. What follows is its published specification and its published return and warranty terms, checked on 2026-09-21.

3-wheel folding

SKRT R300

$379.99

Capacity

300 lb

Top speed

3.5 mph

Weight

50 lb

Folded size

26 x 20.9 x 20 in

  • Lightest scooter here at 50 lb, and it splits into three parts
  • Folded size is listed at 26 by 20.9 by 20 inches, which suits most SUV trunks
  • Lowest price in this set
  • SKRT lists the range two different ways on the same page
  • Three wheels trade away some stability for a tighter turn

The lift-and-load pick. At 50 lb split across three parts, one adult can usually load it alone. SKRT lists a 48V brushless motor and a 3.5 mph top speed.

Read this first: The listing title says 13 km of range. The description on the same page says 13 miles, about 20 km. We could not reconcile the two, so treat the range as unconfirmed.

Best for: A parent who needs the scooter in and out of a car most days.

4-wheel folding

SKRT R100

$409.99

Capacity

300 lb

Top speed

4.5 mph

Range

Up to 10 miles

Battery

24V, 180W

  • Four wheels give a steadier base than the 3-wheel R300
  • SKRT publishes capacity, speed, range and battery on the product page
  • Splits into five pieces for a trunk or a closet
  • SKRT does not publish the unit weight for this model
  • Ten miles is short if the errand loop is long

The cheapest four-wheel option here. SKRT lists 300 lb capacity, 4.5 mph and up to 10 miles per charge, plus front LED lighting and an adjustable seat.

Read this first: No published unit weight. Ask SKRT before assuming one person can lift the heaviest piece.

Best for: A first scooter for someone who wants four wheels on a budget.

3-wheel folding

SKRT RF03

$589.99

Capacity

300 lb

Top speed

3.72 mph

Battery

Detachable lithium

Seat

Rotatable, padded

  • Detachable lithium battery can be carried indoors to charge
  • Rotatable seat makes getting on and off easier
  • Puncture-resistant solid tires and a drum brake, per SKRT
  • SKRT publishes neither the range nor the unit weight
  • Slowest top speed in this set at 3.72 mph

The pick when the charger cannot reach the parking spot. The battery detaches, so it charges wherever there is an outlet. SKRT lists an aluminum frame and a brushless motor.

Read this first: Two figures buyers usually want, range and weight, are absent from the product page. Ask before ordering.

Best for: Apartment and condo residents with no outlet near the scooter.

4-wheel heavy duty

SKRT XW-E01

$1,869.99

Capacity

500 lb

Top speed

15 mph

Range

Up to 25 miles

Weight

243 lb

  • Highest capacity here at 500 lb
  • Longest published range here at up to 25 miles
  • Arrives assembled, with lights, mirrors, seat belt and anti-tip rollers
  • At 243 lb it does not go in a car without a lift or a ramp
  • A 15 mph top speed is faster than most sidewalk use calls for

The heavy-duty option. SKRT lists an 800W brushless motor, a 48V 20Ah battery, front shock absorbers and 4.5 inches of ground clearance.

Read this first: SKRT warns that a used or ridden scooter may draw a restocking fee on return. Read the policy before buying.

Best for: A rider over the 300 lb limits who stays within one neighborhood.

If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings.

Established brands

Four Names You Will Recognize

These four are sold on Amazon. Each ASIN was checked against the Amazon Creators API on 2026-09-21 and came back in stock. The figures below are the ones each listing states. Where a listing omits a figure, we say so.

Vive 4-Wheel Mobility Scooter (around $675)

265 lb capacity, 88 lb, splits into four parts, heaviest piece 29 lb.

The lowest capacity in this comparison. Check the rider weight first.

Check price on Amazon →

Drive Medical Scout 4-Wheel (around $849)

300 lb capacity, up to 15 miles, 4.25 mph, 94 lb, 53.75 in turning radius.

The most complete spec sheet of the Amazon listings here.

Check price on Amazon →

Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller 4-Wheel (around $1,279)

300 lb capacity, 4 mph, 12 Ah battery pack, 117 lb, non-scuffing tires.

Pride is the best known name here. The listing does not state a range.

Check price on Amazon →

Golden Buzzaround EX Extreme GB148 (around $1,963)

Up to 18 miles, 5 mph, front and rear suspension.

Suspension is rare at this size. The listing omits the capacity.

Check price on Amazon →

If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings. Amazon prices change often. Confirm the current price on Amazon before you buy.

Coverage

Does Medicare Pay for a Mobility Scooter?

Sometimes, and the conditions matter more than the answer. Medicare.gov puts scooters inside durable medical equipment, under Part B. Its wheelchairs and scooters page opens with this line:

“Medicare Part B (Medical Insurance) covers wheelchairs and power-operated vehicles (scooters) if you’re eligible.”Medicare.gov, Wheelchairs & scooters, retrieved 2026-09-21

Eligibility is where most buyers stop qualifying. The same page sets out the test:

“Part B covers power wheelchairs and scooters only when they’re medically necessary. You must have a face-to-face examination and a written prescription from a treating provider before Medicare covers a power wheelchair or scooter.”Medicare.gov, Wheelchairs & scooters, retrieved 2026-09-21

Two more requirements follow. Medicare.gov says it will only pay for equipment from suppliers enrolled in Medicare. It also warns that certain power wheelchairs need prior authorization, which the supplier submits on the buyer's behalf.

What you would still pay

Medicare.gov states the cost share plainly. After the Part B deductible, you pay 20% of the Medicare-approved amount when the supplier accepts assignment. Medicare.gov lists the 2026 Part B deductible as $283.

A supplier who does not accept assignment can charge more. Medicare advises asking about assignment before you get the equipment.

One practical consequence runs through this whole page. Buying a scooter online from a retailer sits outside that process entirely. There is no enrolled supplier and no claim, so there is nothing for Medicare to pay. Every scooter on this page is a retail purchase.

If the goal is coverage rather than convenience, start with the doctor, not with a product page. Ask for the face-to-face exam and the written order, then find a supplier enrolled in Medicare. Our guide to what Medicare does and does not cover walks through the same distinction for alert devices.

Buyer's checklist

What to Check Before You Order

Start with weight capacity, then leave a margin

Every other number is secondary to this one. A scooter rated at 300 lb is rated for the rider plus anything carried. Buy above the rider's weight, not level with it. Two models here sit outside the usual 300 lb band. The Vive is rated at 265 lb. The SKRT XW-E01 is rated at 500 lb.

Decide whether it must go in the car

This decides more purchases than range does. A folding travel scooter weighs 50 to 120 lb and splits into parts. The heaviest single part still has to be lifted by somebody. The SKRT R300 at 50 lb is a different job from the 243 lb XW-E01, which needs a ramp or a vehicle lift.

Treat range as a rough figure, not a promise

Published range assumes a light rider on flat ground in mild weather. Hills, cold and a heavier load all cut it. Halve the number for planning. Two of the SKRT models publish no range at all, and three of the four Amazon listings here do not state one either.

Measure the doorways before the scooter arrives

Indoor use needs a clear path. Measure the narrowest doorway, then the turn into it. Four-wheel scooters need more room to turn than three-wheel scooters. If the scooter will live indoors, check that it fits through the bathroom door, not just the front door.

Read the return window, not just the warranty

SKRT publishes a 30-day return window and a 90-day limited warranty. Non-quality returns are at the buyer's cost, and shipping a scooter back is not cheap. SKRT also warns that a used scooter may draw a restocking fee. Amazon returns run under Amazon's own policy instead.

Charge the battery on a schedule

Lead-acid and lithium packs both prefer regular topping up to deep discharge. Charge after each outing rather than waiting for the gauge to drop. Keep the charger and the pack indoors and dry. The SKRT RF03 has a detachable battery, which helps when the outlet is far from the scooter.

Home fit

Safety, Doorways and Storage

A scooter changes how a home is used. Measure before it arrives. Take the narrowest doorway, the turn into it and the width of any hallway. Then check the threshold at the front door. A lip of an inch or two is enough to stop a small front wheel.

Storage needs a plan too. The scooter needs somewhere dry, with an outlet in reach of the charger. A garage works if it stays above freezing. Loose rugs and trailing cables are the two hazards people notice too late. The National Institute on Aging publishes a room by room guide to clearing them.

Ramps come up quickly once a scooter is in the house. A threshold ramp handles a doorstep. Getting a scooter into a vehicle is a different problem, solved by a folding model or a vehicle lift. The 243 lb SKRT XW-E01 is firmly in lift territory.

Questions we hear most

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare pay for mobility scooters for seniors?

It can. Medicare.gov says Part B covers power-operated vehicles, its term for scooters, as durable medical equipment. Three conditions apply. The scooter must be medically necessary. You need a face-to-face exam and a written prescription first. Your supplier must be enrolled in Medicare. You then pay 20% of the approved amount after the Part B deductible.

Can seniors get a free mobility scooter?

There is no federal free-scooter program. Medicare pays 80% after the deductible, so a 20% share remains. Medicaid, a Medicare Advantage plan or veterans' benefits may cover more. The rules differ by state and by plan. Local charities and loan closets sometimes lend equipment. Treat any advert offering a free scooter with no conditions as a sales pitch.

What are the top 10 mobility scooters for seniors?

We compare eight, not ten. Ten would mean padding the list with models we could not source specifications for. The eight are the SKRT R300, R100, RF03 and XW-E01, the Vive 4-Wheel, the Drive Medical Scout, the Pride Go-Go Elite Traveller and the Golden Buzzaround EX Extreme. Where a merchant publishes no figure, the table says so.

Who can get a free mobility scooter?

Nobody gets one from Medicare outright. The closest thing is stacking programs. A person on both Medicare and Medicaid may have the 20% coinsurance covered by Medicaid. Some Medicare Advantage plans and veterans' benefits cut the share further. Every route starts the same way: a face-to-face exam, a written order, an enrolled supplier.

Is a mobility scooter better than a power wheelchair?

They suit different people. A scooter asks the rider to sit upright, steer a tiller and step on and off. A power wheelchair uses a joystick and supports less trunk strength. Medicare treats both as durable medical equipment. If steering a tiller is already hard, a scooter is the wrong tool.

Should I buy a 3-wheel or a 4-wheel mobility scooter?

Three wheels turn tighter, which matters indoors and in shops. Four wheels sit on a wider front base, which is steadier on slopes and uneven ground. If the scooter lives indoors, lean toward three wheels. If it will cross grass, gravel or kerb cuts, lean toward four. The SKRT R300 and RF03 are the 3-wheel options here.

How much does a mobility scooter for seniors cost?

The eight models here run from $379.99 for the SKRT R300 to about $1,963 for the Golden Buzzaround EX Extreme, checked on 2026-09-21. Travel scooters that fold sit at the lower end. Heavy-duty models with higher capacity and longer range sit at the top. Retail prices move, so confirm at checkout.

The desk's bottom line
Buy for the rider, not for the spec sheet. Weight capacity with a margin comes first, then who lifts it into the car. The SKRT R300 is the easiest to load at 50 lb. The Drive Medical Scout has the most complete published specification. If coverage matters more than price, start with the doctor and a Medicare-enrolled supplier instead.

See the SKRT R300 at SKRT → If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings.

Sources & references

Every price, capacity, range, weight and warranty figure above was read off the merchant's own page on 2026-09-21. Amazon listings were checked the same day through the Amazon Creators API; all four ASINs returned in stock. Retail prices move, so confirm at checkout.

Pricing and plan details are drawn from each provider's official website and verified periodically; confirm current rates at the point of purchase. Statistics are cited from the sources above.