Audien Hearing Aids Review
The short answer
Buy an Audien if your parent has mild to moderate hearing trouble, wants to spend under $400 a pair, and will use the 45-day refund if the aids fall short. Skip it if the loss seems severe, if an FDA warning sign applies, or if your parent needs someone to fit the aids in person. Audien's six models listed at $98 to $689 a pair on October 6, 2026.
How we reviewed Audien
We have not worn or tested these hearing aids. This is a desk review, and we do not rate sound quality. It rests on four sources, all read on October 6, 2026:
- Audien's own product and spec pages
- Audien's refund policy and limited warranty
- The FDA's rules for OTC hearing aids
- Complaints published on Audien's Better Business Bureau profile
Reader-supported: we earn a commission if you buy through our Audien links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes who we tell to skip it.
If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings.
If you are still choosing a brand, our guide to the best OTC hearing aids for seniors compares Audien with Jabra, Oricle and Sennheiser.
Our verdict
Pick the Audien by how your parent will adjust it
Audien sells only over-the-counter hearing aids. The FDA created that category for adults with perceived mild to moderate loss. Within it, the 45-day refund carries most of the value. Your parent can try the aids at home before the money is gone.
The models differ most in their controls. The Atom One uses small dials. The Atom X uses a touchscreen on its charging case. The ION Pro 2 needs a smartphone app.
Start with the control your parent will actually use. For a parent who avoids phones, that means the Atom One or the Atom X. Keep the box, and mark day 45 on the calendar.
Audien's site ran a 20 percent off sale from October 6 to 9, 2026. Confirm the price at checkout.
Check Audien's price →If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings.
The lineup
Six models run from $98 to $689 a pair
Audien splits its line into in-ear Atom models and behind-the-ear ION models. Every figure below comes from Audien's own pages. “Not stated” means Audien does not say.
| Model | Price per pair | Price checked | Form factor | Battery (Audien's figure) | App |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ION Pro 2 | $689 | Oct 6, 2026 | Behind the ear | 48 hours with case | Yes, required |
| ION Air | $489 | Oct 6, 2026 | Above the ear | 64 hours with case | No, buttons on the aid |
| Atom X (2nd Gen) | $389 | Oct 6, 2026 | In the ear | 64 hours with case | No, touchscreen case |
| Atom Pro 2 | $289 | Oct 6, 2026 | In the ear | 48 hours | Not stated |
| Atom Air | $149 | Oct 6, 2026 | In the ear | 24 hours | No |
| Atom One | $98 | Oct 6, 2026 | In the ear | 24 hours | No, manual dials |
If you buy through this link we may earn a commission; it never changes our ratings.
Only the ION Pro 2 needs a phone. Audien lists it for an iPhone 11 or newer, or select Android phones on Android 13 or later. Check your parent's phone before you order.
Who should skip it
Skip Audien if the loss is severe or a warning sign applies
The FDA says OTC aids are “NOT for the treatment of severe or profound hearing loss.” Their maximum output is limited. Anyone under 18 needs a prescription aid.
The FDA also tells buyers to see a doctor first, preferably an ear-nose-throat doctor, when:
- Hearing changed suddenly in the past 6 months.
- One ear hears worse, or rings on its own.
- The ear hurts, drains, or may be blocked with wax.
- Your parent gets really dizzy or has vertigo.
The FDA points to a hearing professional if your parent can't hear speech in a quiet room. Our OTC vs prescription guide has the full list of signs. Skip Audien, too, if your parent won't sit through a support call. Audien requires a phone call or a video appointment before any return.
The amplifier question
Audien's aids are listed as OTC hearing aids, and “FDA registered” proves little
The FDA draws the line by intended use. Hearing aids are “intended for people who have hearing loss.” Amplifiers, called PSAPs, are “intended for consumers with normal hearing.” PSAPs “are not medical devices like hearing aids.”
Audien's FAQ answers the question head on. It calls its products “true FDA registered over the counter hearing aids.” Its Atom Air page says the aid is “Built for mild to moderate hearing needs.”
Read “FDA registered” with care. The FDA says such wording “may be misleading.” A registration does not mean the FDA approved or cleared the device.
FDA listing data offers firmer ground. Models named Atom One, Atom Pro2, Atom Air and ION appear under the product code for an over-the-counter air-conduction hearing aid. Two manufacturers in Xiamen, China, list them. Audien's site does not name its manufacturer, so we cannot confirm these are the same devices.
Complaints
Recent complaints center on returns and replacement pairs
Audien holds an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau. It has been accredited since December 3, 2021. On October 6, 2026, its profile showed “523 total complaints in the last 3 years” and 157 closed in the last 12 months. BBB says the nature of complaints and the company's responses often matter more than the count.
So we read the eight newest published complaints, dated August 22 to September 21, 2026. Three dispute warranty or protection-plan decisions. Two say a replacement pair arrived labeled refurbished or rebuilt. Two describe slow replacement shipping. Two describe the return process, including $8.48 in return shipping for a pair reported dead on arrival.
Audien answered each one publicly. One reply said its “fulfillment team is currently going through a transition.” The replies also disagree about returns. An August 28 reply said “a video appointment is required.” A September 22 reply said it “is not required to process your return,” and that a phone call starts it.
Returns
The 45-day refund needs a call with Audien and paid return shipping
Audien offers “a 45-day risk-free trial from the date you receive your shipment.” The fine print matters:
- Every return needs approval first, after a phone call or a video appointment.
- “Customers are responsible for paying return shipping fees.”
- The package must be in transit by the 45th day after delivery.
- It needs the original packaging and every accessory, undamaged.
- Damage from water or wax buildup voids the refund.
- Aids bought in a store go back to that store, under its policy.
Audien's support line is 1-800-400-HEAR, Monday to Friday, 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. Arizona time. Call in the first month, not the final week.
Warranty
The warranty lasts one year and excludes water and wax damage
Audien's limited warranty covers defects for “12 months from the date of original delivery.” Audien repairs or replaces an aid once inspection confirms a defect. The replacement can be “a new or refurbished unit of equivalent performance.” That clause matches the refurbished-replacement complaints above.
The warranty excludes normal wear and wax buildup. Water and sweat damage are excluded too. It covers only the first owner, and it excludes software. Keep both aids and the case together. In one BBB reply, Audien said it needs the complete set to inspect a claim.
How to buy
Buy direct from Audien to keep the 45-day refund
Buy on audienhearing.com if you want the 45-day trial. Shipping is free within the continental United States. Audien says insurance does not cover its aids, but it accepts FSA and HSA cards.
Original Medicare won't help. Medicare.gov says, “Medicare doesn't cover hearing aids or exams for fitting hearing aids.” Some Medicare Advantage plans add hearing benefits, so ask the plan first.
Audien says each order includes one free 30-minute Sound Check with a hearing specialist. Later appointments cost $100 unless you pay for an AudienCare subscription.
Reader question
Are Audien hearing aids FDA approved?
Audien says "FDA registered," which is a different claim. The FDA says registration does not mean the FDA approved or cleared the device. FDA listing data does show models with Audien's names under the OTC hearing aid product code.
Reader question
Which Audien is easiest for a parent who avoids technology?
Judging by controls alone, the Atom One or the Atom X. Neither needs a phone. The Atom One uses what Audien calls "small physical dials," so check your parent's fingers first. The Atom X uses a touchscreen on its case.
Reader question
Can you return Audien hearing aids bought in a store?
Not to Audien. Its policy says store returns "must be processed through the original retailer." Ask the store about its return window before you buy.
Next, see how $98 to $689 compares with Costco and clinic prices in our hearing aid cost guide.
Related reading
Sources & references
A desk review: we have not worn or tested any Audien hearing aid. Audien's pages, the FDA pages, the FDA listing data, Medicare.gov and the BBB profile were all read on October 6, 2026. Audien changes prices and runs sales often; confirm at checkout. We quote FDA guidance and do not give medical advice.
- Audien Hearing: homepage with per-pair prices by model
- Audien: ION Pro 2 product page
- Audien: ION Air product page
- Audien: Atom X product page and technical specifications
- Audien: Atom Pro 2 product page
- Audien: Atom Air product page
- Audien: Atom ONE product page and model comparison
- Audien: Refund policy (45-day trial, shipping, warranty summary)
- Audien: Limited Warranty
- FDA: OTC Hearing Aids, What You Should Know
- FDA: Hearing Aids, with its OTC versus PSAP table
- FDA: Are there 'FDA Registered' or 'FDA Certified' medical devices?
- FDA device registration and listing data (openFDA): Atom and ION models under product code QUF, OTC air-conduction hearing aid
- Better Business Bureau: Audien Hearing business profile
- Better Business Bureau: Audien Hearing complaints
- Medicare.gov: Hearing aids
Pricing and plan details are drawn from each provider's official website and verified periodically; confirm current rates at the point of purchase. Statistics are cited from the sources above.